The hidden side of clinical trials

Watch the AllTrials TEDx talk on YouTube

Learn more

Evidence matters to the public

Join us on 1st November at Parliament to make the case

Learn more

Plant Science Panel

Insecticides, biofuels, GMOs …

Learn more

'The Ugly Truth'

by Tracey Brown, director of Sense About Science

Learn more

Sense About Science win at Medical Journalists’ Association Awards

MJA award16th July 2010:

We were honoured to win Health Charity of the Year last night at the MJA 2010 Awards for our work campaigning to reform England's libel laws.



The ceremony was held at the Royal Society of Medicine and Simon Singh also won Health Campaigner of the Year.

In accepting the Award Tracey Brown of Sense About Science said, "Medical and science reporters must be free to ask awkward questions without ending up in court. That is why we welcome the libel reform Bill soon to go before Parliament and will continue campaigning to make sure it offers real change in English libel law."

Simon Singh said, "I am delighted to be acknowledged for defending my right to free speech as a journalist writing about medicine and for campaigning for the reform of our libel laws. I know that many members of the Medical Journalists Association have backed both me and the campaign and I am very grateful for this valuable support. The good news is that a defamation bill has now been proposed in the House of Lords by Lord Lester, which has been welcomed by the Government. Therefore, there is genuine hope that the law will be reformed. However, we must not be complacent and we must continue to apply pressure so that any resulting bill is not watered down, but meets the urgent needs of scientists, doctors and journalists. In particular, it is far too early to celebrate while the eminent cardiologist Dr Peter Wilmshurst is still being sued for libel and faces bankruptcy for daring to stand by his views on a matter of serious public interest."

Other awards were presented to:

Sam Lister, The Times: Health Journalist of the Year Award

Adam Brimelow, BBC News: Broadcast Journalist of the Year Award

Zosia Kmietovicz, BMJ: Medical Journalist of the Year Award

Susan Mayor: Freelance Journalist of the Year

Fiona Godlee, BMJ: Health Editor of the Year

Sarah Brealey, Eastern Daily Press: Regional Print Journalist of the Year

Eleanor Bradford, BBC Scotland: Regional Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Pulse: Health Publication of the Year

Health Service Journal: Health Website of the Year (a new award this year.)

Read more about the awards